Jacob’s Top In 2011

Jacob Testa
6 min readMar 19, 2024

I’d been meaning for a while to copy over a few things I wrote at Mind Equals Blown to have it all consolidated here, and I’m finally doing it now that the site is no longer online. This is my year-end post for 2011. I’m mostly not changing anything, other than using current formatting and updated links.

1. Go Radio Lucky Street

I still stand by what I said about this album back in June. It was a phenomenal year for music, and this album managed to hit me just the right way. In a year where melody ruled, this record was full of some of the best. I’ve praised Jason Lancaster’s voice for a long time, but it’s more than that. The songwriting on Lucky Street (and their previous work) is incredible, with each word, riff, and beat drawing me back for more. I’d also recommend bonus track “Stay Gone” from the deluxe edition, but the original version of the album is great on its own.

2. Jeremy LarsonThey Reappear

This might not have been my absolute favorite album this year, but it was far and away the best record that I listened to, making it difficult to come up with a final version of this list. I honestly can’t think of a single thing to criticize about They Reappear. The compositional and instrumental work are top-notch, and the vocals have an intimate quality about them that just suits the music perfectly. The instrumental version of this album is great for studying or writing papers to, but a listen to the complete version with headphones is something everyone should do at least once. This album is less a collection of songs than a collective experience. Flawless.

3. Bayside Killing Time

It was difficult for me to choose which of these top three albums would go in which spot. I’m a huge Bayside fan, and this album is easily at the same level of their self-titled and The Walking Wounded in terms of powerful lyrics, great guitar work, and overall cohesiveness. One of the biggest mistakes I made this year was passing on the opportunity of seeing them play some of these songs when they came to Pittsburgh this year. While the band has said that we won’t hear new music from them in 2012, I eagerly anticipate Anthony Raneri’s solo EP, which should be out in January, and their set on Warped Tour next summer. If this record is any indication, those should both easily be among my highlights for next year.

4. Patrick Stump Soul Punk

In almost any other year in recent memory, this might’ve been my #1 choice. With a left turn from his work in Fall Out Boy, Patrick Stump released the best pop album of 2011. While other albums had their strengths in terms of melody, literally every line on this album comes with a great one. As I said in my review of the album, at least one of these songs gets stuck in my head at some point throughout the day, and it’s hardly ever the same song. Adding in some great musicianship (he played every part on the record) and compositional skills makes this a top choice for 2011.

5. Mayday Parade Mayday Parade

Say what you want about Anywhere But Here, but this group of guys has the ability to write some phenomenal songs. With their self-titled, the quintet brought back more pronounced dual vocals, put a greater emphasis on great instrumental parts, and made a big stride in the lyrics department to create the comeback album of the year. The acoustic Valdosta EP indicated improved songwriting, and this album made good on that promise. Some might still focus on the loss of Jason Lancaster, but this album proves that they don’t need him to write great songs. I said it before, and I’ll say it again. This is Mayday Parade.

Top 5 EPs:

1. Farewell FighterThe Way We Learn: My favorite release of the year, hands-down. I could say a lot, but just go listen.
2. Select StartThe New Atlantic: The addition of Daniel Lancaster and a change in sound made this the band’s best release yet.
3. Roy EnglishFearlove: The end of Eye Alaska gives us a solid first solo release from Brandon Wronski.
4. Patrick StumpTruant Wave: A preview for the glory of Soul Punk that’s great in its own right.
5. Sleeping At LastYearbook Series: Twelve beautiful EPs in twelve months.

Best Album Art: Bon IverBon Iver, Bon Iver

(This wasn’t in the original post, but I pulled it from the list I kept on my computer.)

Favorite Live Show: Anberlin, Circa Survive, and Foxy Shazam at Mr. Small’s Theatre in Pittsburgh, PA, 1/25/11

Biggest Surprise: Childish GambinoCamp

Immediately hooked me on a first listen after failing to do so with his EP.

Biggest Disappointment: Blue OctoberAny Man In America

Despite releasing a solid album, my expectations were just too high.

Best New Discoveries:

1. Farewell Fighter
2. Select Start
3. This Love
4. Oh, Manhattan
5. Childish Gambino

Most Anticipated:

1. Modest Mouse
2. The Spill Canvas
3. Saosin
4. Emarosa
5. Every Time I Die
6. Conditions
7. Motion City Soundtrack
8. Jonny Craig
9. Broadway
10. The Killers

(The last five here weren’t in the original post, but I pulled them from the list I kept on my computer.)

If you ever need to fill a lot of hours with good songs, here’s almost everything I liked this year, all in one handy playlist (it’s in alphabetical order by artist, so I recommend just shuffling): What’s Good In 2011

If you’re curious about what else I’ve liked, here are all of my rankings:

2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019

2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023

And my 2010s retrospective: Top 100 Albums of the 2010s

--

--